Flight went perfectly! Landed in Rome and went
straight to Budget rent a car. What a scene. Thousands of hot ( and i don't
mean sexy) people waiting in a hot room! Got our number and took a seat on our
luggage and proceeded to wait 2 hours. Ryan and I had very good real estate on
the floor and we were able to sleep. Jimmy figured it would go faster if he and
Erin stood the whole time, so that's what they did. Who am I to argue. After
getting our contract we had to stand in another line to get our car. For those
of you who have travelled with me (Nina and Sari), you know I like a car with
as little mileage as possible. So when they gave us a van with high mileage
Jimmy said to the very impatient man; "my wife would really like it if you
gave us one of the Mercedes vans". He curtly replied "they are
already contracted". After trying a few different tactics to get the guy
to give us the Mercedes Jimmy finally responded; "Listen, I will give you
100 Euros if you give us the Mercedes van". The guy simply responded
"ok"...so off we drove in a brand spanking new Mercedes, 9 passenger,
Automatic ( rare in europe) van. Exactly 16 km on it!
Off we went to the Amalfi coast!
For those of you who don't know, it is the law in Italy that when you stop
on the side of the highway you have to wear an orange vest. So when Jimmy had to
pee I insisted he wear the orange vest.

This is not exactly what happened. The true story is that the first guy gave us a van with 3000 kms but when we got to the second guy who actually gives out the cars he decided to give us an old van with 60,000 kms. THAT was NOT acceptable. So thats where I offered the guy a bribe to find us a better van. 50 euros later we had a brand new Benz!!!! Never discount the value of a perfectly good bribe.
ReplyDelete